‘My…My…’ An Animated Short That’ll Mess With You

First reaction: “What is this, I don’t even…”

Second reaction: “I’ve consumed way too much coffee for this.”

In essence, “My…My…” is an old Nintendo game on acid. A blue character, who anatomically seems to be a male, loses his clothes and attempts to get them back from a shapeshifting imp that evades its chaser by taking flight or by slipping in and out of textured portals and levels. At least, this is how I made sense of the video; beyond the obvious, I really have no idea what’s going on. Reducing “My…My…” to something understandable is, of course, missing the point. It’s first and foremost a psychedelic piece of art – a world that can, at the very least, be described as a veritable explosion of color and strangeness.

Tidbits:

Animator: Lei Lei

Music: Li Xingyu

If Psychedelic Chinese art is your thing, see more at Raydesign.

Yo, leave a reply!

